National Scout Organizations

Scouting is a global movement with over 54 million Scouts worldwide, all part of recognised National Scout Organizations (NSOs) of WOSM (also known as Member Organizations). The role of the NSO is to support and develop Scouting in that country, and facilitate contacts with other NSOs and the World Organization. To become a member of WOSM, NSOs must gain recognition from the World Scout Conference. There can only be one NSO per country. In the case of a country having more than one National Scout Association (NSA), a federation is formed for the purpose of national coordination and world membership.

There are currently 172 Member Organizations in the world. In addition to the 172 Member Organizations, local Scouting activities exist in at least another 72 countries and territories worldwide.

List of National Scout Organizations

Membership figures

Below you can find the membership census as of the World Organization of the Scout Movement. In some countries, the National Scout Organization may be larger than indicated, where girls and women are registered only as members of the World Association of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts (WAGGGS).

WOSM Membership Census

Scouting Elsewhere

Main Territories There are 38 main territories where Scouting exists, often as overseas branches of member NSOs: Aland Islands, Anguilla, Antarctica, Bermuda, Bonaire-Saint Eustatius and Saba, Bouvet Island, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Island, Cayman Islands, Christmas Islands, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), Faroe Islands, French Guiana, Gibraltar, Greenland, Guadeloupe, Guam, Head Island and McDonald Islands, Martinique, Mayotte, Montserrat, New Caledonia, Norfolk Island, Pitcairn, Réunion, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Helena, Saint Martin, Saint Pierre & Miquelon, Sint Maarten, South Georgia and the South Sandwich, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Turks and Caicos Islands, US Minor Outlying Islands, U.S. Virgin Islands, Wallis and Futuna

Potential Member Countries

There are 14 countries where Scouting exists (be it embryonic or widespread) but where there is no National Scout Organization which is yet a member of WOSM.

Albania, Central African Republic, Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Mali, Nauru, Samoa, Somalia, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan 

WOSM maintains official contacts with French Polynesia, which is an associate member of the Asia-Pacific Scout Region.

Countries with no Scouting There are five countries where Scouting, to WOSM's knowledge, does not exist; in some it would not be allowed. These are: Andorra, People's Republic of China, Cuba, Democratic People's Republic of Korea and Lao People's Democratic Republic.

Are you sure you want to delete this?
Welcome to! We use cookies on this website to enhance your experience.To learn more about our Cookies Policy go here!
By continuing to use our website, you are giving us your consent to use cookies.