Scout Centres of Excellence for Nature, Environment and Sustainability

Scout Centres of Excellence for Nature, Environment and Sustainability, or SCENES, are very special places. They are centres that have made a long-term commitment to protect the environment and promote greater environmental understanding. SCENES are committed to protecting their natural environment, minimising their environmental impact and enabling all those involved with the centre to engage with nature and become empowered to make their own personal commitment to the environment.

SCENES lead by example and act as positive role models to other Scout centres, non-Scout centres, their guests, and their local community. They provide hands-on educational activities for Scouts and training opportunities for leaders build around a passion for nature and making positive changes for the environment at home and in the community.

Do you want to visit a SCENES?

Click on any of these centres around the world and start planning your trip today!

Country SCENES Centre Website
Australia Eprapah Eprapah facebook page
Australia Joseph Harris Park (Bay Park Scout Camp) https://scoutsvictoria.com.au
Austria Bundeszentrum Wassergspreng www.pfadfinder.at/bzw
Austria Pfadfinderdorf Zellhof www.zellhof.at
Austria Techuana www.techuana.at
Brazil Base Escoteira de Pesquisa e  Educaçāo Ambiental Goiás http://baseescoteira.org.br/
Brazil Campo Escoteiro http://www.escoteirossc.org.br/site/index.php/institucional/campo-escoteiro
Canada Attawandaron Scout Reserve http://www.attawandaron.com/
Canada Blue Springs Scout Reserve www.spiderlair.ca/bssr
Canada Camp Opemikon http://voy.scouts.ca/ca/camp-opemikon
Canada Haliburton Scout Reserve http://greatertoronto.scouts.ca/ca/haliburton-scout-reserve
Canada Mount Nemo Scout Camp https://www.swocamps.ca/camps/?camp=nemo
China, Scouts of Camp Nautilus Camp Nautilus facebook page
Costa Rica Campo Escuela Nacional Iztarú http://siemprelistos.com/campo-escuela-nacional-iztaru/
Czech Republic Kapraluv mlyn, Scout Environmental Education Centre www.kapraluvmlyn.cz
Denmark Houens Odde International Scout Centre www.houensodde.dk
Denmark Naesbycentret www.naesbycentret.dk
Denmark Trevældcentret www.trevaeld.dk 
Denmark Stevninghus https://stevninghus.bookhus.dk/default.aspx
France Jambville  http://jambville.sgdf.fr/
Germany ImmenhausenScouting Center/Zentrum Pfadfinden Immenhausen http://zentrum.pfadfinden.de/
Germany VCP Guide and Scout Centre www.vcp-bundeszeltplatz.de
Germany Westernohe www.westernohe.org
Hong Kong Tai Tam Scout Centre https://scout.org.hk/chi/
Lithuania Scout Valley www.skautuslenis.lt/en/
Luxembourg Misaershaff Youth training centre www.misaershaff.lu
Luxembourg Neihaischen www.scotel.lu
Malaysia Gilwell Scouts Nature Park Sandakan (Gilwell SNP Sandakan) https://www.facebook.com/Gilwell-Scouts-Nature-Park-Sandakan-111293993914805/
Mexico Centro Scout Meztitla http://www.scoutsmexico.org/
Nepal Kakani International Training Centre  https://nepalscouts.org/kakani-international-scout-centre-kisc/
Netherlands Buitencentrum Gilwell Ada’s Hoeve www.adashoeve.nl
Netherlands Scout Centre Buitenzorg  http://buitenzorg.scouting.nl/nl/
Netherlands Scouting Estate Zeewolde https://scoutinglandgoed.nl/en
Netherlands Scout Centre Rotterdam www.scoutcentrumrotterdam.nl/en/
Netherlands Scouting Campsite St. Walrick https://www.stwalrick.nl/en/  
Portugal Drave Scout Centre drave@escutismo.pt
Switzerland Kandersteg International Scout Center www.kisc.ch
United Kingdom Brownsea Island https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/brownsea-island
United States The Florida Sea Base www.bsaseabase.org

 

Resources

  • SCENES Guidelines
    SCENES Guidelines
    File download