National Scout Organizations

Scouting is a global movement with over 50 million members worldwide, all part of National Scout Organizations (NSOs). The role of the NSO is to support and develop Scouting in that country, and facilitate contacts with other NSOs and the World Organization. To become a member of WOSM, NSOs must gain recognition from the World Scout Conference. There can only be one NSO per country. In the case of a country having more than one National Scout Association (NSA), a federation is formed for the purpose of national coordination and world membership.

There are currently 170 NSOs in the world. In addition to the 170 member countries, we are aware that local Scouting activities exist in at least another 58 countries and territories worldwide.

List of National Scout Organizations

Membership figures

Below you can find the membership census as of 31 December 2016. In some countries, the National Scout Organization may be larger than indicated, where girls and women are registered only as members of the World Association of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts (WAGGGS).

Membership Census 31 December 2016

Scouting Elsewhere

Main Territories There are 24 main territories where Scouting exists, often as overseas branches of member NSOs: Anguilla Antarctica Bermuda Cayman Islands Cocos (Keeling) Islands Cook Islands Falkland Islands (Malvinas) Faroe Islands French Guiana Gibraltar Greenland Guadeloupe Martinique Montserrat New Caledonia Norfolk Island Puerto Rico Réunion Saint Helena Saint Pierre and Miquelon Turks and Caicos Islands Virgin Islands, British Virgin Islands, U.S. Wallis and Futuna

Potential Member Countries

There are 25 countries where Scouting exists (be it embryonic or widespread) but where there is no National Scout Organization which is yet a member of WOSM. Note: In the independent countries marked with a "*", there is a Scout Association which is a branch of a WOSM member. Afghanistan Albania Antigua and Barbuda* Central African Republic Congo Djibouti Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Iran Kyrgyzstan Mali Marshall Islands* Micronesia, Federated States of* Nauru Palau Saint Kitts and Nevis* Samoa Solomon Islands * Somalia Tonga* Turkmenistan Tuvalu* Uzbekistan Vanuatu* WOSM maintains official contacts with French Polynesia, which is an associate member of the Asia-Pacific Scout Region. Countries with no Scouting There are five countries where Scouting, to WOSM's knowledge, does not exist; in some it would not be allowed. These are: Andorra, People's Republic of China, Cuba, Democratic People's Republic of Korea and Lao People's Democratic Republic.

Are you sure you want to delete this?
Welcome to! We use cookies on this website to enhance your experience.To learn more about our Cookies Policy go here!
By continuing to use our website, you are giving us your consent to use cookies.