The website uses "cookies", both internal and from third parties. Cookies are small text files placed on your end user device and help us to distinguish you from other users, to enhance your experience on If you continue, we'll assume that you are happy to receive cookies on our website. You can change your browser's cookie settings at any time. To find out more about how we use cookies and how to manage your browser settings read our Cookies Policy.


A new Regional Committee for Africa is elected

1. Jan 2009

At the 14th Africa Scout Conference that was held in Ghana, Accra from 9th to 12th November 2009, a new Regional Committee was elected. The new Chairperson for the committee is Jemima Nartey (Ghana), while the Vice Chairman is Dr Jabulani Muchado (Botswana).

Newly elected members are:

  • Cisse Ibrahima Rachid (Guinea),
  • Diouf Mouhamadoul Bachir (Senegal),
  • Ebongue Jeanne (Cameroon),
  • Mussumba Gilbert (DRC).

They join other continuing members, namely, Jemima Nartey (Chairperson) pictured below, Dr. Jabulani Allen Muchado (Vice Chairman), Hon. Dr. Tebebe Y. Berhan (Ethiopia) and Mr. Rogers Mfunwa Lukhele (Swaziland). The Treasurer for the committee is Mr. Jeremy Naivasha (Kenya). Two members finished their terms at the conference: Mr. Marcel Blaguet (Former Chairman) from Côte d’Ivoire and Mr. Chris L. Mbanga from Zimbabwe.

Meanwhile, during the same conference, Mr. Nkwenkwe Nkomo (South Africa) was elected as the new Chairman for the Africa Scout Foundation. He succeeds Mr. Abdourahmane Sow (Senegal). Hon. Dr. Tebebe Y. Berhan is the Foundation’s new Vice-Chairman.

Picture 1: © WSB/ARO

Are you sure you want to delete this?