The website uses "cookies", both internal and from third parties. Cookies are small text files placed on your end user device and help us to distinguish you from other users, to enhance your experience on If you continue, we'll assume that you are happy to receive cookies on our website. You can change your browser's cookie settings at any time. To find out more about how we use cookies and how to manage your browser settings read our Cookies Policy.


Youth Forum elects the 4th batch of young leaders

21st Nov 2012

Participants of the 7th Asia-Pacific Regional Scout Youth Forum elected six young leaders from different National Scout Organizations in the Asia-Pacific forming the new Young Adult Members Group (YAMG) for the term 2012-2015.

They are Pangkaj Sutradhar (Bangladesh), Tam Man-ying (Hong Kong), Nizarul Idhafi Omar (Malaysia), Firuzul Abdulla Khaleel (Maldives), Eugene Lester Lin (Philippines), and Sornsawan Ho (Thailand).

Sornsawan was elected as Chairman and will represent the YAMG to the Regional Scout Committee. The remaining five will serve in the five Sub-committees: Young People, Adult Support, Management, Finance and Scouting Profile. Apart from their sub-committee involvement, YAMG members will take part in planning and supporting the next 8th APR Youth Forum in 2015.

The inclusion of YAMG in the region's operational framework demonstrates the Regional Committee's confidence in the capability of young people to take responsibilities at regional level and provides young people with experience in operating with regional level structures, in decision-making bodies such as the RSC, and all its sub-committees.

Nominations came from Bangladesh, Scouts of China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, India, Japan, Malaysia, Maldives, Philippines and Thailand, comprised of 3 females and 7 males with ages from 18 to 22 years old.

YAMG members ending their terms this conference are Maeed Mohamed Zahir (Maldives), Dicky Lam (Hong Kong), Ari Adipratomo (Indonesia), Jessy Seo Jieun (Korea), Hafiz Ariffin (Malaysia), Oliver Lim (Singapore), Benz Tantivisitkul (Thailand).

Are you sure you want to delete this?