The website uses "cookies", both internal and from third parties. Cookies are small text files placed on your end user device and help us to distinguish you from other users, to enhance your experience on If you continue, we'll assume that you are happy to receive cookies on our website. You can change your browser's cookie settings at any time. To find out more about how we use cookies and how to manage your browser settings read our Cookies Policy.


Day Two of the 40th #ScoutConf culminates with the election of the new World Scout Committee

12. أغسطس 2014

On the occasion of International Youth Day, the United Nations Secretary General's Envoy on Youth, Ahmad Alhendawi, issued a video message to the delegates of the 40th World Scout Conference in which he salutes “Scouts, the true global citizens”.

The day started with a plenary presentation of the Kandersteg International Scout Centre (KISC). KISC shared that it welcomed 13,000 Scouts per year and that since its opening over 91 years ago, KISC has hosted over 1 million Scouts. Another compelling Messengers of Peace project was later introduced on how the Armenia NSO is bringing Scouting to disadvantaged youth.

At mid morning, the delegates were invited to attend a number of different interactive World Scouting Showcase sessions, including, Youth for Change, Educational Methods, 21st Century Leadership, Global Support and the 12th World Scout Youth Forum Outcomes.

The delegates were then given the opportunity to debate specific issues in break-out sessions which dealt with Global Issues, Transparency in Decision-Making, Duty to God and Human Rights. The World Scout Committee members reported back on the discussions to the Plenary in the afternoon, followed by a questions and answers session with the delegates.
The National Scout Organizations of Ireland and Hungary then presented their bids to host the 16th World Scout Moot to take place in 2021.

The highlight of the day was the World Scout Committee elections. Congratulations to all the newly elected members of the World Scout Committee for the 2014-2017 triennium:

Karin Ahlbäck (Finland)
Abdullah Alfahad (Saudi Arabia)
Ledjou Marcel Blaguet (Côte d’Ivoire)
Peter Blatch (Australia)
Fernando Brodeschi (Brazil)
João Armando Gonçalves (Portugal)
Mari Nakano (Japan)
Jemima Nartey (Ghana)
Daniel Ownby (United States of America)
Lidija Pozaic (Croatia)
Craig Turpie (United Kingdom)
Bagrat Yesayan (Armenia)

The day ended with an International Evening to celebrate the diversity of Scouting.

Are you sure you want to delete this?