The Bronze Wolf Award is bestowed by the World Scout Committee (WSC) to acknowledge "outstanding service by an individual to the World Scout Movement".[1] It is the only award which the WSC bestows. Scouting's founder, Robert Baden-Powell, 1st Baron Baden-Powell, initially recognized outstanding contributions to Scouting by any Scout with the bestowal of the Silver Wolf, but although he was Chief Scout of the World, the Silver Wolf became associated with British Scouting. In 1924, the International Committee, predecessor of the WSC, determined that it needed an award to be given out in its own name and at its own recommendation. Baden-Powell wanted to limit the number of awards, but recognized that the concerns of the Committee were valid. Conversation about the matter was re-opened in 1932, with a decision reached in June 1934. The WSC approved the award in Stockholm on 2 August 1935 and unanimously awarded the first Bronze Wolf to Baden-Powell. In order to keep the award a notable honor, the International Committee limited the number of people who could receive it within a two year period to two, though in practice it was given even more rarely, with only 12 awards being bestowed between 1935 and 1955.[1] As Scouting's numbers have increased, so have the number of awards bestowed. Between 1955 and 2002, the award was bestowed 308 times. The guidelines of the WSC dictate that the number of awards granted should be limited to "approximately one award for each 2,000,000 members worldwide
Muhammad Rizky's picture
from Indonesia, 6 years ago
Are you sure you want to delete this?
Welcome to Scout.org! We use cookies on this website to enhance your experience.To learn more about our Cookies Policy go here!
By continuing to use our website, you are giving us your consent to use cookies.