Indian Ocean Scout Conference Reunites the Zone After 12 Years

16 Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions
Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions
4 Quality Education
Quality Education
17 Partnerships for the Goals
Partnerships for the Goals
Adults in Scouting
Communications and Scouting Profile
Global Support Assessment Tool
Good Governance
Youth Engagement
Youth Programme
صورة Africa Scout Region
by Africa Scout Region from Kenya
Publication date: 16. ديسمبر 2019

16 December 2019, Seychelles: The Indian Ocean Zonal Scout Conference has reconvened Scout Leaders of the Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius and Seychelles in the city of Victoria on Mahe Island after a 12-year wait. The conference, in its 8th edition, is a sub-regional gathering of Scout Leaders of the island states whose purpose is to discuss progress of the zone and chart a way forward towards strengthening Scouting in their respective countries.


Over the two days, the four National Scout Organisations (NSOs) will share their progress and challenges with the aim of learning from each other, engage in discussions around strategic issues for the movement and the zone as well as agree on a raft of recommendations on the way forward.


The conference will at the end elect members to its first ever Zonal Scout Committee who will later on be joined by the newly elected Youth Advisors for a one-day induction training to enable them to better understand their role. Going forward, the Zonal Committee will work with the Youth Advisors to enhance coordination of the NSOs and advance the interests of Scouting in the sub region.


Also present at the historic event is the Regional Director, Frederic Tutu Kama-Kama and staff of the World Scout Bureau Africa Support Centre, who have been supporting the organisation and delivery of the conference and other events organized around it. The two-day conference ends on 17 December 2019.


At the end of the conference a pioneer team of Zonal Committee comprising of the following were elected for a three-year term:

Mr. Michel RAOELIJAONA (Madagascar, President)
Mrs. Terina Madeleine (Seychelles, Vice-President)
Mr. Randriamanantena Niry / Papango (Comoros, Adults in Scouting)
Mr. Speville PASCAL (Mauritius, Youth Programme and Engagement)
Mr. Franck RAMANARIVO (Madagascar, Communications)
Mr. Abdou El Hakim ALI HOUZOIR (Comoros – Secretary)

Are you sure you want to delete this?
Welcome to! We use cookies on this website to enhance your experience.To learn more about our Cookies Policy go here!
By continuing to use our website, you are giving us your consent to use cookies.