Jejomar Cabauatan Binay Awarded Bronze Wolf, Scouting's Highest Honour

Global Support Assessment Tool
World Scouting's picture
by World Scouting from Malaysia
Publication date: 15th Oct 2018
Creator: World Scouting

The World Scout Committee has awarded the Bronze Wolf to former Vice President of the Philippines, the Honorable Jejomar Cabauatan Binay for his exemplary leadership and service at all levels of Scouting.

Binay first joined the Movement over 30 years ago as a Cub Scout in the Philippines. He earned his First Class award but left the Movement as a Senior Scout so he could earn an income. He later returned to Scouting as a volunteer adult Scout Leader who would go on to become President of the Boy Scouts of the Philippines and Chairman of the Asia Pacific Region.

To date, Binay is the only person to have served on the Asia Pacific Regional Scout Committee for twelve years (1998- 2004, 2007-2012) and the only Regional Committee member to be a Chairman of the Asia-Pacific Region for two three-year terms (2007-2010, 2010-2012.)

As Regional Chairman, Binay set a high standard of leadership in National Scout Organizations, strengthened camaraderie among national and regional leaders, and welcomed the Cambodia Scouts Association to the Movement while setting the groundwork for other prospective member countries like Timor-Leste, Myanmar, and Vietnam. He was especially instrumental as part of the team that arranged the transition of the World Scout Bureau Global Office from Geneva, Switzerland to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Binay has dedicated his life to serving young people through Scouting, is an outstanding role model to young people and adults alike, and constantly promotes the value of Scouting. His personal journey earning his First Class award, leaving the Movement to earn a living, and returning again as an adult volunteer is an inspiration to all and demonstrates what can be achieved through having goals and hard work

The Bronze Wolf Award, worn around the neck on a green ribbon with yellow edges, is the only award presented by the World Scout Committee, and recognises individuals who have shown outstanding service to the World Scout Movement. Lord Baden-Powell, the Chief Scout of the World, was the first to be honoured with the award in 1935.


You should not see this


Are you sure you want to delete this?
Welcome to! We use cookies on this website to enhance your experience.To learn more about our Cookies Policy go here!
By continuing to use our website, you are giving us your consent to use cookies.