The website uses "cookies", both internal and from third parties. Cookies are small text files placed on your end user device and help us to distinguish you from other users, to enhance your experience on If you continue, we'll assume that you are happy to receive cookies on our website. You can change your browser's cookie settings at any time. To find out more about how we use cookies and how to manage your browser settings read our Cookies Policy.


Africa Scout Conference

The Africa Scout Conference is the governing organ of the Africa Scout Region. It takes place every three years and formulates the general policy of the region through resolutions. It elects members of the Africa Scout Committee.

Each member National Scout Organization is entitled to send to the Africa Scout Conference up to six delegates and a number of observers to be determined in agreement with the organizing committee.

In conjunction to the Conference, a Regional Scout Youth Forum takes place. The aim of the Youth Forum is to provide a learning platform and to increase youth participation in decision-making processes of the organization.

The next Africa Scout Conference and Youth Forum will take place in Uganda in 2015.

Africa Scout Committee

The Africa Scout Committee is the executive organ of the Africa Scout Region. It is made up of 8 elected and 2 ex-officio members, elected for a 6-year term. To ensure continuity, four of the elected members retire at each Africa Scout Conference and are replaced by four other members. All Committee Members are from different countries. For a list of Africa Scout members click here

Youth Advisors

The Regional Scout Youth Forum elects 6 Youth Advisors to the Africa Scout Committee, for a three-year term. Youth Advisors take part in the meetings of the Regional Scout Committee and help in the preparations of the next Africa Scout Youth Forum. They must be aged 18-26 at the time of election and all represent different countries.

Africa Scout Region Strategic Plan

The current regional strategic plan (2012-2015) was adopted at the 15th Africa Scout Conference in Luanda, Angola (6-9 June 2013) upon submission by the Africa Scout Committee with technical support from the Africa Scout Regional Office.

The plan builds on the gains of the Africa Ten Year Development plan 2001-2011 and takes into account the four priority areas emanating from the 39th World Scout Conference resolutions, namely Youth for Change, 21st Century Leadership, Global Support and Our Strategic Path. It also builds on the outcomes of the 2nd Africa Scout Summit and status reports based on extensive field visits by top Scouting Leadership at the Regional level.

Ultimately, the strategic plan aims to consolidate the gains of Scouting and address fundamental issues on systems, structures, processes and infrastructure at the NSOs and regional levels. To this end, the plan focuses on five strategic objectives based on the mission of Scouting.

See links below for the Regional Strategic Plan for 2012–2015 (available in English/French)


Standing subcommittees

To achieve the objectives of the regional strategic plan, the Africa Scout Committee as set the following subcommittees, which are directly supported by relevant staff members from the Africa Scout Regional Office:

  • Adult Resource – headed by Mr Gilbert Mussumba
  • Partnerships and Projects – headed by Mohamadou Bachir Diouf
  • Communications and External Relations – headed by Dr. W. A. Davis
  • Resource Mobilization – headed by Mr Jeremy Miriti Naivasha
  • Governance and Constitutional Affairs – headed by Ms Jeanne Ebongue assisted by Mr Ayim Palamwe
  • Youth Program – headed by Mr Kikas Manuel Machado
  • Events – headed by Mr Danielo Ramsamy